Step 1: Register with CMS!

To get started on your path to payment, begin by registering with CMS.

Step 2: Create an SLR Account.

Click here to create a Medi-Cal EHR Provider Incentive Portal account for accessing the Medi-Cal EHR Provider Incentive Portal site.

Already have an SLR account?

Welcome to the State Level Registry (SLR) for the Medi-Cal Electronic Health Record Incentive Program

The Medi-Cal EHR Incentive Program is able to provide substantial financial incentives to health professionals and acute care hospitals to adopt, implement, upgrade and meaningfully use certified electronic health record technology. Professionals can receive up to $61,250 over 6 years and hospitals (depending on size) can receive up to $10-15 million over 4 years. As of June 2017, the program has distributed $1.4 billion in federal funding to over 22,000 health professionals and over 390 hospitals. The last year to begin the program was 2016, but previously enrolled professionals and hospitals may continue to receive incentive payments through 2021.

Important Information

2016 Attestations Close

Attestations for 2016 Program Year closed for all providers on July 25, 2017

2017 Attestations

Program Year 2017 attestations opened on May 23, 2017.
Only providers who attested to AIU or MU in a prior year will be able to continue the program by attesting to MU for the 2017 Program Year. Attestations for AIU will not be accepted for 2017 or subsequent program years.
MU attestations initially will be available only for Stage 2. All providers will be able to attest to Stage 2 in 2017 regardless of how many prior years of Stage 2 attestations they may have submitted.
All providers will have the option to attest to Stage 3 for Program Year 2017, although providers will have to wait until January 2018 for the State Level Registry (SLR) to be able to accept Stage 3 attestations.
All providers will be able to use a 90-day reporting period for objectives in 2017. However, providers who have previously attested to MU will be required to use a full year reporting period for CQMs until October 3, 2017, when the changes from the recent 2018 IPPS Rule become effective. After October 3, 2017 all providers, including those who have previously attested to MU, will be able to use a 90-day CQM reporting period and will also be required to only report on any six CQMs (as opposed to nine CQMs from three domains).
Providers who opened an attestation in the SLR prior to October 3, 2017 should contact the SLR Help Desk if they wish to use the new MU requirements for 2017. If they do not contact the SLR Help Desk they will not be able to take advantage of the new 2017 MU requirements.
Providers who start an attestation in the SLR after October 3, 2017 will automatically be subject to the new 2017 MU requirements.

2017 Prequalification

The lists of NPIs of prequalified clinics and providers have been loaded into the SLR and are available for viewing by clicking the links below;

Clinics — Click here
Providers — Click here

2017 Hospitals

Hospitals that changed their designation in the National Level Registry (NLR) from “dually eligible” to “medicaid only” in order to attest to meaningful use in the SLR for 2016 Program Year will need to change their designation back to “dually eligible” in the NLR (even if they have completed the Medicare EHR Incentive Program) so that they can attest to MU in the NLR for 2017 and future years. The SLR will require registration by dually eligible hospitals but will not require the hospital to re-enter MU data.

Medicare Payment Adjustments

Providers attesting to MU for the first time in 2017 will avoid 2018 Medicare payment adjustments. Those providers who are unable to attest to MU for the first time until after October 1, 2017 may initially experience payment adjustments for 2018 that will be reversed in the future. Providers who attest to MU in 2017 but who are not attesting to MU for the first time will not be able to avoid the 2018 Medicare payment adjustments. Providers who begin attesting to the MIPS program in 2017 may be eligible for a hardship exception for 2018 Medicare payment adjustments if they file a hardship exception form with CMS by October 1, 2017. Click here for information about this one-time hardship exception.


DHCS is required to conduct audits of hospitals and providers who receive EHR incentive payments for AIU or MU. Hospitals and providers should retain documentation supporting their attestations for at least seven years in case of an audit.

Hospitals: DHCS began auditing hospital AIU incentive payments in September 2015. The EHR audits are scheduled in the same manner as the Medi-Cal cost report audits. To the extent possible, the EHR audits will be combined with the cost report audits to minimize disruption to the hospital’s operations and staff.

Providers: DHCS is currently conducting audits of a sample of providers who have received incentive payments for AIU.

California Technical Assistance Program (CTAP)--In November, 2015 the California Technical Assistance Program was launched with $37.5 million in federal and state funds. This program is designed to continue the work of the Regional Extension Center Program which has provided assistance to over 12,000 professionals in adopting, implementing, upgrading and meaningfully using certified electronic health record technology. The CTAP program is designed to deliver free services to assist an additional 7,500 professionals, with special emphasis on solo practitioners and specialists. The four CTAP organizations can be accessed by clicking on the links below..

Important Web Resources (all links open in new window)